image: Title

What is the 11 plus?

Pupils transfer to secondary schools at the age of 11. Some children will take the 11 plus exam.

What is the 11 plus?

The "11 Plus" is an selective examination to determine which children should enter Grammar schools in Year 7.Up until the 1970's, every child in England and Wales had to sit the 11 Plus examination to determine which type of Secondary school they would go to once they had left their Primary School. Now a days only a few will take the exam.Grammar School places are offered to roughly one quarter of the year group in areas where the process applies.Approximately one quarter of Woodlands' pupils go to grammar school. (But it does vary from year to year - from about 20% to 30%.)

What does the 11+ test consist of?

This year the 11+ tests will consist of
(i) Verbal Reasoning Test (50 minutes- an 80 item test, multiple choice).
(ii) Non-verbal Reasoning Test (40 minutes - a 72 item test in multiple choice format).
(iii) Maths Test (60 minutes - 50 item test - multiple choice).Pupils also complete a piece of writing under test conditions.


email© Copyright - please read
All the materials on these pages are free for homework and classroom use only. You may not redistribute, sell or place the content of this page on any other website or blog without written permission from the Mandy Barrow.

© Copyright Mandy Barrow 2013

Mandy is the creator of the Woodlands Resources section of the Woodlands Junior website. 
The two websites and are the new homes for the Woodlands Resources.

Mandy left Woodlands in 2003 to work in Kent schools as an ICT Consulatant. 
She now teaches computers at The Granville School and St. John's Primary School in Sevenoaks Kent.

Follow Mandy on Twitter

Woodlands Junior Homework Help new website