image: Title

What subjects do you learn?

We follow the National Curriculum for England and Wales.

What is taught in state schools is set by government guidelines. The main aim of the National Curriculum is to raise standards, making sure all children have a broad and balanced education up to the age of 16 and to ensure that schools in all parts of the country are following the same courses.

The National Curriculum specifies what children must study and what they are expected to know at different ages. This ties in with the national tests that check whether children are meeting these targets.

Subjects studied in Key Stage 2 (5 -11 year olds)
English, Mathematics, Science, Information Technology (Computers), Religious Education (RE), Design and Technology, History, Geography, Art, Music and Physical Education (PE).

The National Curriculum at Key Stage 3 includes English, Mathematics, Science, Design and Technology, IT, History, Geography, Modern Foreign Languages, Art, Music and PE. In addition to the National Curriculum, RE is also taught and, for secondary pupils, Sex Education.

At Key Stage 4 students have to study English, Mathematics, Science, Design and Technology, a Modern Foreign Language, IT and PE. RE and Sex Education are also taught, although parents can choose not to let their child study these subjects.

email© Copyright - please read
All the materials on these pages are free for homework and classroom use only. You may not redistribute, sell or place the content of this page on any other website or blog without written permission from the Mandy Barrow.

© Copyright Mandy Barrow 2013

Mandy is the creator of the Woodlands Resources section of the Woodlands Junior website. 
The two websites and are the new homes for the Woodlands Resources.

Mandy left Woodlands in 2003 to work in Kent schools as an ICT Consulatant. 
She now teaches computers at The Granville School and St. John's Primary School in Sevenoaks Kent.

Follow Mandy on Twitter

Woodlands Junior Homework Help new website