image: Title

The British Government places great importance on the need to assess and test pupils in order to know what they have achieved. Compulsory testing takes place at the ages of seven, eleven and fourteen in England and Scotland (but not Wales where more informal methods of assessment are favoured).

All children in state schools are tested in English and mathematics at the ages of seven, 11 and 14, and pupils aged 11 and 14 are also tested in science.

Most young people take GCSE (General Certificate of Secondary Education) examinations at sixteen, and many take vocational qualifications, A/S and A levels (Advanced levels), at seventeen and eighteen.



3-4 Foundation    
5-6 Key Stage 1 Year 1  
6-7   Year 2 National tests and tasks in English and maths (SATs)
7-8 Key Stage 2 Year 3  
8-9   Year 4  
9-10   Year 5  
10-11   Year 6 National tests in English and maths (SATs)
11-12 Key Stage 3 Year 7  
12-13   Year 8  
13-14   Year 9 National tests in English, maths and science (SATs)
14-15 Key Stage 4 Year 10 Some children take GCSEs
 15-16    Year 11 Most children take GCSEs, GNVQs or other national  

email© Copyright - please read
All the materials on these pages are free for homework and classroom use only. You may not redistribute, sell or place the content of this page on any other website or blog without written permission from the Mandy Barrow.

© Copyright Mandy Barrow 2013

Mandy is the creator of the Woodlands Resources section of the Woodlands Junior website. 
The two websites and are the new homes for the Woodlands Resources.

Mandy left Woodlands in 2003 to work in Kent schools as an ICT Consulatant. 
She now teaches computers at The Granville School and St. John's Primary School in Sevenoaks Kent.

Follow Mandy on Twitter

Woodlands Junior Homework Help new website